Kansas is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Kansas includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Laura Kliewer serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Kansas. Please contact Laura with any questions you have or research assistance you need.



Executive Branch
GovernorLaura Kelly
Lieutenant GovernorDavid Toland
Secretary of StateScott Schwab
Attorney GeneralKris Kobach
TreasurerSteven Johnson
Legislative Branch
Seats: 40Seats: 125
Democrat: 11Democrat: 39
Republican: 29Republican: 86
Average Constituency Size: 70,986Average Constituency Size: 22,716
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: No term limit
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtKansas Supreme Court
Chief JusticeMarla Luckert
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionGubernatorial appointment from nominating commission
Method of RetentionRetention election