Minnesota is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of  Minnesota includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Becky Leis serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Minnesota. Please contact Becky with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorTim Walz
Lieutenant GovernorPeggy Flanagan
Secretary of StateSteve Simon
Attorney GeneralKeith Ellison
AuditorJulie Blaha
Legislative Branch
Seats: 67Seats: 134
Democrat: 34Democrat: 70
Republican: 33Republican: 64
Average Constituency Size: 85,172 (based on population figures from 2020 U.S. Census)Average Constituency Size: 42,586 (based on population figures from 2020 U.S. Census
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: No term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtMinnesota Supreme Court
Chief JusticeLorie Skjerven Gildea
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionNonpartisan election
Method of RetentionReelection