Ohio is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of  Ohio includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Laura Tomaka serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Ohio. Please contact Amanda with any questions you have or research assistance you need.



Executive Branch
GovernorMike DeWine
Lieutenant GovernorJon Husted
Secretary of StateFrank LaRose
Attorney GeneralDavid Yost
TreasurerRobert Sprague
AuditorKeith Faber
Legislative Branch
Seats: 33Seats: 99
Democrat: 7Democrat: 32
Republican: 26Republican: 67
Average Constituency Size: 349,591Average Constituency Size: 116,530
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: Eight consecutive yearsTerm Limit: Eight consecutive years
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtSupreme Court of Ohio
Chief JusticeSharon L. Kennedy
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionPartisan primary and general election
Method of RetentionReelection