Wisconsin is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Wisconsin includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Jon Davis serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Wisconsin. Please contact Jon with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorTony Evers
Lieutenant GovernorSara Rodriguez
Secretary of StateSarah Godlewski
Attorney GeneralJosh Kaul
TreasurerJohn Leiber
Legislative Branch
Seats: 33Seats: 99
Democrat: 11Democrat: 35
Republican: 22Republican: 63
Vacant: 1
Average Constituency Size: 172,333Average Constituency Size: 57,444
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: No term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtWisconsin Supreme Court
Chief JusticeAnnette Kingsland Ziegler
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionNonpartisan election
Method of RetentionReelection