Indiana is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Indiana includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Derek Cantù serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Indiana. Please contact Derek with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorEric Holcomb
Lieutenant GovernorSuzanne Crouch
Secretary of StateDiego Morales
Attorney GeneralTodd Rokita
TreasurerDaniel Elliott
AuditorTera Klutz
Legislative Branch
Seats: 50Seats: 100
Democrat: 10Democrat: 30
Republican: 40Republican: 70
Average Constituency Size: 135,806Average Constituency Size: 67,903
Length of Term: 4 yearsLength of Term: 2 years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: no term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtIndiana Supreme Court
Chief JusticeLoretta H. Rush
Number of Justices5
Method of SelectionGubernatorial appointment from nominating commission
Method of RetentionRetention election