North Dakota

North Dakota is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of North Dakota includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Laura Tomaka serves as CSG Midwest liaison for North Dakota. Please contact Laura with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorDoug Burgum
Lieutenant GovernorTammy Miller
Secretary of State Al Jaeger
Attorney GeneralDrew Wrigley
TreasurerThomas Beadle
AuditorJosh Gallion
Legislative Branch
Seats: 47Seats: 94
Democrat: 7Democrat: 14
Republican: 40Republican: 80
Average Constituency Size: 14,310Average Constituency Size: 14,310
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Four years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: No term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtNorth Dakota Supreme Court
Chief JusticeJon Jensen
Number of Justices5
Method of SelectionNonpartisan election
Method of RetentionReelection