Michigan is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Michigan includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Laura Kliewer serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Michigan. Please contact Laura with any questions you have or research assistance you need.



Executive Branch
GovernorGretchen Whitmer
Lieutenant GovernorGarlin Gilchrist II
Secretary of StateJocelyn Benson
Attorney GeneralDana Nessel
TreasurerRachael Eubanks
Legislative Branch
Seats: 38Seats: 110
Democrat: 20Democrat: 56
Republican: 18Republican: 54
Average Constituency Size: 260,096Average Constituency Size: 89,581
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: Eight yearsTerm Limit: Six years
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtMichigan Supreme Court
Chief JusticeElizabeth Clement
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionPartisan nomination; nonpartisan election
Method of RetentionReelection