Ontario is one of three Canadian affiliate provinces in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot provides information on the provincial government of Ontario and its legislature.


Key Offices
PremierHon. Doug Ford
Deputy PremierHon. Sylvia Jones
SpeakerHon. Ted Arnott
Attorney GeneralHon. Doug Downey
Minister of FinanceHon. Peter Bethlenfalvy
Legislative Branch
Progressive Conservative81
New Democrat30
Eligible Elector Population2,615,052
Length of termA general election is to be held between
March 1st and May 31st every fourth year.
The Lieutenant Governor, on the advice
and consent of the premier, may dissolve
the Legislative Assembly and call a general
election at any point before an upcoming
fixed election date.
Term limitsNo term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtThe Court of Appeal
Chief JusticeHon. Michael Tulloch
Number of Justices22 (but occasionally
supplemented with
supernumerary judges)
Method of SelectionAppointed by federal government