Illinois is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Illinois includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Mitch Arvidson serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Illinois. Please contact Mitch with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorJ.B. Pritzker
Lieutenant GovernorJuliana Stratton
Secretary of StateJesse White
Attorney GeneralKwame Raoul
Treasurer Mike Frerichs
ComptrollerSusana A. Mendoza
Legislative Branch
Seats: 59Seats: 118
Democrat: 41Democrat: 73
Republican: 18Republican: 45
Average Constituency Size: 217,468Average Constituency Size: 108,734
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtSupreme Court of Illinois
Chief JusticeAnne M. Burke
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionPartisan election
Method of RetentionRetention election