Iowa is one of 11 states in CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot of Iowa includes information on the state’s three branches of government: key leaders in the executive branch, a partisan breakdown of the legislature, term limits, an overview of the judicial branch, and more.

Derek Cantù serves as CSG Midwest liaison for Iowa. Please contact Derek with any questions you have or research assistance you need.


Executive Branch
GovernorKim Reynolds
Lieutenant GovernorAdam Gregg
Secretary of StatePaul D. Pate
Attorney GeneralBrenna Bird
TreasurerRoby Smith
AuditorRob Sand
Legislative Branch
Seats: 50Seats: 100
Democrat: 16Democrat: 36
Republican: 34Republican: 64
Average Constituency Size: 63,848Average Constituency Size: 31,924
Length of Term: Four yearsLength of Term: Two years
Term Limit: No term limitsTerm Limit: No term limit
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtIowa Supreme Court
Chief JusticeSusan Christensen
Number of Justices7
Method of SelectionGubernatorial appointment through nominating committee
Method of RetentionRetention election