Alberta is one of three Canadian provinces that is an affiliate of CSG’s Midwestern Legislative Conference. Our snapshot provides information on the provincial government of Alberta and its legislature.


Key Offices
PremierDanielle Smith
SpeakerNathan Cooper
Minister of Justice/Solicitor GeneralTyler Shandro
Minister of Finance/President of Treasury BoardTravis Toews
Legislative Branch
United Conservative Party62
New Democrat24
Eligible Elector Population2,615,052
Length of termA general election is to be held between
March 1st and May 31st every fourth year.
The Lieutenant Governor, on the advice
and consent of the premier, may dissolve
the Legislative Assembly and call a general
election at any point before an upcoming
fixed election date.
Term limitsNo term limits
Judicial Branch
Highest CourtThe Court of Appeal
Chief JusticeCatherine A. Fraser
Number of Justices20
Method of SelectionAppointed by federal government