Nine state officials from the Midwest are recipients of CSG’s 20 Under 40 Leadership Award

November 6, 2023

Nine state officials from the Midwest, including seven legislators, have earned a 20 Under 40 Leadership Award from The Council of State Governments. The annual leadership award is for individuals who exemplify strong leadership and a passion for public service.

Among this year’s award recipients are three graduates of the Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development, a signature program of the CSG Midwestern Legislative Conference that is for legislators in their first four years of service. The award-winning BILLD graduates are Kansas Rep. Tory Marie Blew, North Dakota House Minority Leader Zachary Ista, and Ohio House Assistant Minority Leader Dontavius Jarrells.

Four other legislators from the Midwest also won a CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award. They are Michigan Senate Assistant Majority Leader Darrin Camilleri, Kansas House Speaker Pro Tempore Blake Carpenter, Ohio House Democratic Whip Jessica Miranda, and Michigan House Majority Whip Ranjeev Puri.

In all, 20 elected and appointed officials in state government from around the country were chosen for the award. Recipients from the Midwest also include Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Secretary Dan Hereth and Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction Director Jay Chaudhary.

Learn more ยป